Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Phillip Island Classic Festival of Motorsport

Friday March 8 2019 10:00 am - Sunday March 10 2019 5:00 pm

Many Highlights coming at the 30th Anniversary of Phillip Island Classic ‘Festival of Motorsport’ 

 The weekend of 8 – 10 March is not only the 30th anniversary of the Phillip Island Classic ‘Festival of Motor Sport’, today regarded as one of the largest historic motor racing events in the world, but a number of major anniversaries are also being highlighted.

Event open from 9am to 5pm each day








Amongst these will be the 50th anniversary of the Formula Ford in Australia with 56 of these iconic cars racing in a feature 40K race on the Sunday for the Perkins Cup to be presented to the winner by motor sport legend Larry Perkins.


The 50th anniversary of the famous Holden Dealer Team will also be celebrated both on the track and in the field with one of the largest group of HDT cars on display over the weekend. Sunday the HDT cars will parade on the track driven by many of the past drivers and mechanics that made this team so successful.


Highlighting the importance of this event, Motor Sport legend Dick Johnson, winner of the 1981, 1987 and 1994 Bathurst and a five time winner of the Australian Touring Championship will be Patron for the event. Many other Australian legends of the sport will also be at the event including John Bowe, John French, Peter Janson, Larry Perkins, Bob Morris, Fred Gibson, Jim Richards, Charlie O’Brien, Allan Moffatt, Peter Byrne, Ian Tate and Frank Lowndes and signing opportunities will be available for patrons on the Saturday and Sunday.


Women in motorsport will be highlighted with at least six women driving throughout the weekend including Rher Sautter from Germany driving her lightweight 3.8 E-Type Jaguar, Samantha Diamond in the Lola Mk1 Sports Car, Joanne Coad in the Vauxhall Special, Louise Raper in the George Reid Special, Jessieca Penn in the Lotus 7 and Gretchen Puccinelli in the Abarth Formula Libre.


The E-Type Jaguar driven by Rhea Sautter has a long history of racing in the USA in the early 70’s and in Europe, winning the 4 hour race at Nordschleife –Nurburgring several times, a track considered the hardest track in the world. Rhea has raced the Jaguar since 2011 she and Andrew Newell won last year’s 6 hour race at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium.

The event has once again drawn major sponsors with Burson Auto Parts as Naming Rights sponsor, long-time sponsors Cooldrive, Penrite and Shannons along with other industry names including 1st time sponsor for the event BP.

Melbourne’s Dutton Garage has entered four very interesting cars with the 962 Group C Porsche to be driven by George Nakas which along with his McLaren M8F Can-Am driven by Jason White will provide serious competition for 956 Group C Porsche of Russ Kemprich who has just returned the car to Australia after an extensive campaign in Europe.

Andrew Cannon AM will race the A9X of Bob Morris in which Bob Morris won the 1979 Australian Drivers’ Championship, beating Peter Brock.

The 2019 Phillip Island Classic ‘Festival of Motor Sport’ has a strong entry of Group C and A cars with some of the fastest cars in Australia in Group A entered the 50K rolling start race on Sunday. James Vernon will race a Ford Sierra Cosworth RS500 for B & H Racing. James broke the Group A lap record at the Sandown Historic Race meeting in November 2018 and has just been signed by Garry Rogers Motorsport to drive the Alpha TCR race car.

Largest gathering of Bathurst Winners will attend Phillip Island Classic ‘Festival of Motorsport’

Over the long weekend of 8 – 10 March the Phillip Island Classic ‘Festival of Motorsport there will be, what is likely to be, the largest ever gathering of Bathurst Winners at one point.

Twelve legends of the sport will be at Phillip Island to enjoy one of the largest historic motor racing events in the world in the 30th Anniversary of the Victorian Historic Register (VHRR). They will also celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the Holden Dealer Team and the 50th Anniversary of Formula Ford in Australia and witness spectacular racing events throughout the weekend.

The true legends of Australian Motorsport including Kevin Bartlett, John Bowe, John French, Fred Gibson, John Harvey, Dick Johnson, Allan Moffatt, Bob Morris, Larry Perkins, Dave Reynolds, Jim Richards and Brian Sampson, will be on hand Saturday and Sunday for patrons and enthusiasts to take advantage of signing opportunities on posters and memorabilia. Collectively these champions have won 27 Bathurst Races. Dick Johnson, founder of Dick Johnson Racing, is Patron of this year’s event.

Among other legends of motorsport in attendance at the Phillip Island Circuit will be Gold Star winner Alfie Costanzo and Supercar sleuth Aaron Noonan.

This year’s Phillip Island Classic Festival of Motorsport will also witness the largest ever assembly of Holden Dealer Team cars at one time.

Proving that motor racing is not an exclusive man’s domain, six women will be racing including the 2018 winner of the six hour race at the Circuit de-Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium, Rhea Sautter from Germany. Rhea will be driving her lightweight 3.8 E-Type Jaguar.

Other women racing over the weekend will include Samantha Diamond, Joanne Coad, Louise Raper, Jessieca Penn and Gretchen Puccinelli.

Burson Auto Parts are major sponsors of the event with other key sponsors Cooldrive, Shannons, Penrite, General Motors and BP. The Phillip Island ‘Festival of Motorsport’ 2019 is shaping up to be something special with almost 500 entries.

Promoter: Victorian Historic Road Racing Register

Heralded as Australia’s largest recognised internationally in the world’s top ten historic motor race events.



Friday March 8 2019 10:00 am
Sunday March 10 2019 5:00 pm
Event Tags:




Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit
Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit Back Beach Road
Ventnor, Victoria 3922 Australia
+ Google Map